Dark sides of Laravel

Forewords

I am highlighting a situation in this article which must be a core concern for whole PHP community. I want my readers to read the article with patience till last word. I am a PHP lover but i am presenting an important case here, so read thoroughly and ponder on all aspects.

Introduction

As being a Solution Architect i encounter questions from Businesses and Software Engineers like “Why PHP instead of .NET (Core) ?” Anyone can answer that with substantial reason.

On the other hand, it becomes a challenge to satisfy businesses and developers on the question “Why Not ASP.NET (Core), But Laravel?”

When we ask Businesses / Recruiters, “Why Laravel?” they say “Because there are more Laravel Developers around”.

Things go worse when Laravel Developers has to end up a debate with this argument “Laravel is preferred PHP-Framework because there are more Jobs in Market related to Laravel”. So this forms a Cyclic Dependency on Laravel which is the best among the worsts frameworks.

Competing The Best Among the Worsts:
Before i explain why i see Laravel as “Best among the Worst Frameworks” i want to clear a bad illusion that “Containerization” can somehow enable the worst technology to make its place in competition with powerful technologies". The fact is that no dimension of scaling can help intrinsically weaker technology to come in competition with good technologies.

Therefore, i am highlighting here the weaker sides of hyped Laravel and also highlighting the wisdom in using “compiled” PHP Frameworks like “Swoole” and “Phalcon”.

Complexities with Undemanded Library Support
Laravel talks about huge support for third-party Libraries.
However, external libraries can always be easily downlaoded and configured in any PHP App, quickly in fewer minutes, with the help of three-worded Composer command, and that on the basis of “Get It Only When Needed”.